Christmas in the country 2016

Happy New Year! I hope  everyone has survived the holiday season. I also hope that everyone had a wonderful Christmas with family and friends. As I write this, we are currently in 2017 and are making or breaking our New year’s resolutions. I am so ready for warmer weather with the snow and cold! But there’s a saying – if you don’t like the weather in Missouri wait and in 5 minutes it will change. This week is snow, next week is 50’s and then ice over the weekend.

I got a totally awesome package from Janet Bremer from Minnesota whose family has a big dairy.

In this cookbook, Janet marked pages for me that were  her favorites and submitted by people that she knew. I have already found some recipes that I can’t wait to try… the beer cheese dip sounds great.

She also sent me a Gingerbread man ornament with a glass of milk. It is on my tree and looks so cute. What is funny is I had just gotten a Gingerbread man cookie the same day and had remarked how Gingerbread men have become a lost art.

Being that Janet is from Minnesota, it was only fitting that in the box she included a Minnesota Vikings ornament.They love the Vikings!?  All I can say is they have a great color scheme and they freeze a lot more than other fans. I actually saw a video of a Vikings tailgate and fans were thawing beer over a heater. That’s awesome right there. 

I sent my box to Sarah Loudermilk in North Carolina. It was basically a Missouri themed box.

I really love doing this each year. It’s  always so interesting to see where you gift comes from and what is in it. It always shows alot about how diverse this group  is and how diverse of a nation that we are- both of which is so important in this day and age.

Thank you to Jenny and Darleen for putting this together this year. It would not have been possible without you.

Here’s to a wonderful 2017 

Keep it real friends 

Taylor Short 

The Aggie Hipster 

4 thoughts on “Christmas in the country 2016

  1. So you glad you joined us again this year Taylor! I also have that cookbook and it is awesome! Enjoy and Happy New Year!
    ~Darleen

  2. Taylor,
    Sounds like you got neat items from Minnesota. Very personable of Janet to mark some of her favorite recipes in the dairy cookbook.

    I’m from South Dakota and Vikings are a popular team here too.

Leave a Reply

