Missouri Made

I am sure that most of you have read about our latest headlining event – the rodeo at the Missouri State Fair.  If you have not, then I will leave that to Google at your own leisure.  Unfortunately, the media decided to make Missouri world “famous” as a result of some political jokes at the expense of President Obama.

It is not my intention of this blog to discuss the rodeo incident but rather try to shed positive light on those of us who reside in the Show-Me State.

It stands to reason that everyone will tell you their state is the best; but if you haven’t been to Missouri then you don’t know what you are missing(of course I am little biased). From the rolling hills of the southern Missouri Ozarks to the prairies in northern Missouri, to the Missouri river bottom in central Missouri to the lowlands in the Bootheel, Missouri abounds with diverse agriculture.  With that diversity comes a variety of cultures and the people who are born into those cultures.

Now I have lived in this great state my entire life.  While I do enjoy traveling it is a welcome relief to come back to the Show Me state.  I guess you could say I am Missouri made and my beliefs are a result of that.  I was raised to know the difference between right and wrong, to be logical in my thinking, to treat others as I would want to be treated, and to have some common sense. I am a farm kid born and raised on the belief that hard work has value.

The Show- Me state has a lot to be proud from its agriculture to its tourism.  I live in the Ozarks which is home to Missouri State University (where I go to school), Table Rock Lake, Silver Dollar City, and my own town’s claim to fame- the home of Laura Ingalls Wilder and the vacation home of Carl Mays.  When in school, I live in Springfield Missouri, the 3rd largest city in Missouri, which is surrounded by numerous caves, rivers and creeks. We are also known for our awesome fishing, (even trout) hunting, floating, and many other outdoor activities. We are also home to the Double A Springfield Cardinals.

Missouri is home to numerous Agriculture Businesses such as Monsanto, Hiland Dairy, and Tyson Foods. Missouri is also home to the American Angus and American Hereford Associations. For those of you who enjoy a nice cold beverage, we raise out mug in respect to the well world- recognized brand, Budweiser. Missouri is the home of The American Royal which continues to be one of the Largest Roll of Victory shows in the Midwest. The Missouri State Fair open Angus show is the largest in the nation.

I am proud to live in this state- the Gateway to the West.  There have been some recent issues that have given the rest of the country the impression that we are ignorant hillbillies – an embarrassment and a disgrace to our fellow Americans because our beliefs are different. Should we not all be proud to live in this state that has so much great history and where agriculture has and will always be the backbone of our economy?  It is my opinion that we should embrace people from other cultures and should be proud to live in our great state.  It is this kind of thinking that should unite us as a country.  However, it seems like the media is always trying to cause a divide between those who have, and those who have not.

I am a proud Missourian. I take my voting privileges very seriously.  I am not an embarrassment, a disgrace, or a racist.  So I would appreciate it as would most Missourians if we were not grouped into this category.

I am proud of who I am. I am proud that my values and my beliefs are Missouri -made

I am proud of this state and what it stands for.

I am proud to claim Missouri as my home as it will always be my home no matter where my life takes me.

I thank the Lord every day for blessing me with my life in Missouri, where I constantly see His awesome works from sunsets to sunrises, and the miracles of birth on the farm.  I am indeed, blessed.

Missouri Proud- Missouri Made! It’s where I come from!

 

 

th th3 thd the the4 thg

 

 

 

 

Keep it real Friends,

The Aggie Hipster

Leave a Reply

