About the ag nerd

My name is Taylor Short. I am a senior agriculture communications Major at Missouri State University in Springfield MO. I grew up in Mansfield MO, the town known for the home of Laura Ingalls Wilder. I have No clue as to what I want to do with my future but I see grad school at Texas A&M or Cal Poly? I want a job that will allow me to travel worldwide spreading the message of agriculture and telling my own story.

I am a third generation Angus breeder; our family has raised Angus cattle for almost 50 years qualifying us for the distinction of Historic Angus Herd in 2014. Our farm has been in our family for 5 generations. During the summer I show my cattle at various state and national shows/fairs. this has allowed me to make lifelong friends and awesome memories. I write blogs for I love Farmers they Feed my Soul as the lone catalyst for conversation in Missouri — I love being involved in this movement because it gives everything a new light making it cool to talk about agriculture. I am also involved in Farm Bureau at the local, college, and state level.

I love all of my family, especially my mom and my dad, Tim and Payree Short. I like to say that I am a daddy’s girl because during the summer it’s usually me and my dad working cattle. My mom is my biggest fan. My whole family on my Dad’s side lives in Mansfield so I see my family all the time, and I love it. My animals are part of my family from our 2 dogs, Bubba , the blue healer, and Kate, the rat terrier ,to Max the cat. My family also includes my cattle that I show because I love my Angus cattle.

I love politics and I am a strong Republican. I also love sports- baseball, basketball, and College Football- Gig Em Aggies. I am a huge music fan from rock to classic rock. I also enjoy traveling and learning about different cultures. I love to read books that are not textbooks. Just never have the time to read. I also enjoy having a good time and enjoying life with awesome friends. I am a Christian and I am proud to be an AG NERD. My passion for Agriculture fuses with what I write or say. I am heavily addicted to Facebook and Twitter, constantly being on one or the other or both. I have dreams to one day live in California, Europe, somewhere warm, or the big city. My life philosophy is three things: 1. Live life each day with no regrets. 2. My life is in God’s hands. He is Master of my life and only God knows my plan. 3. Rock hard! Don’t ever give up in life, life is too short to give up or quit. Life knocks you down but that’s when you get back up and rock harder!

Control oil and you control nations; control food and you control the people.”
Henry Kissinger, 1970

ROCK ON FARM ON

Here is some music that I think describes my personality if you want to know me just go though some of my music here
3 Doors Down: It’s not my time

 

Creed: Rain

Bon Jovi: Its My Life

Script: Hall Of Fame

Gym Class Heroes: The Fighter

Cheap Trick: Mighty Wings

Nickelback

Michael Buble

Leave a Reply

